Athensville is an alternative rock band featuring Matthew Taglang (vocals), David Perry (guitar), Ed Moman (bass), and Brian “Scooter” Hassinger (drums).

Athensville draws its name from the history of Ardmore, the Philadelphia suburb where rehearsals first took place.  Their music combines layered guitars and vocals with driving rhythms and bass. Forming in 2016, the band released its first EP “Proper” in 2018. Performing in and around the Philadelphia area, the band wrote and recorded their debut LP “Undressing Minds for Show,” which was released in 2021.   As the band's profile grew, it enjoyed an opening slot for A Flock of Seagulls at Ardmore Music Hall, as well as airplay on Philadelphia's Alt-Radio 104.5 FM, and a video featured on WHYY's “House Concert Series.”

2024 marks the release of the band's EP “Crossed With Lightning," recorded by their long-time producer Derek Chafin. The recording tackles subjects ranging from social justice and civil discourse to the human capacity for change, delivering a decidedly modern take on Indie Rock.



Press Photos